Skip to content

Toggle service links


The Open University, established by Royal Charter on 23 April 1969, is the leading university for flexible, innovative and world-leading research in the United Kingdom and in over 100 countries worldwide. Uniquely placed to understand the needs of part-time students, combining their learning while earning, our innovative, award-winning distance teaching credentials have seen over 2 million students receive an education, otherwise denied to them at campus-based universities. Interested in seeing more? Take a look at our prospectuses.

Meet the Vice-Chancellor

Peter HorrocksIt’s a great privilege to be the Vice-Chancellor of The Open University. The Open University has always put students first. Thousands of OU students complete their higher education journeys each year, helped on their way by the advice, inspiration and guidance of our Associate Lecturers and Student Support staff.

Read more Peter Horrocks CBE, Vice Chancellor

The annual report

Annual report

Introducing our first fully interactive Annual Report 2016/17 and our Financial Statements setting out the important developments we’ve seen across 4 nations and internationally in the past year.

Peter Horrocks CBE

Looking forward

Looking towards the year ahead, our local and global impact is considerable.  Our student focus, as the UK’s largest social mobiliser is unwavering in a higher education sector possessing opportunities as well as challenges.  Read on to hear how we are facing up to these.

The ceremonial mace

Governance at The OU

Governance at the University as defined by Royal Charter, including its officers, committees and procedures.

The crest

Strategy and policies

Learn about The Open University, its history, strategy and mission.

Berrill building

Teaching and research

Find out how OU-style open learning works from course development through to delivery to our students.

Find us

The Open University has its headquarters at Walton Hall in Milton Keynes, with representation across the UK.