Skip to content

Toggle service links

Nations, faculties & research

The Open University in the UK and Ireland

More about study, research activities, news and events in each of the four Celtic nations:


At the heart of the OU’s teaching are its faculties, schools and institutes, producing high quality courses underpinned by research of international excellence.

Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences

Recognised internationally for its excellence in teaching, research and public engagement, FASS works to transform individuals, societies and cultures through four interdisciplinary Schools comprising Art History, Classical Studies, Creative Writing, English, Music, History, Religious Studies, Sociology, Social Policy & Criminology, Politics, Philosophy, Economics, Development, Geography and Psychology.

The Open University Business School (OUBS)

Delivers business and management education which is quality assured; OUBS is part of an elite and exclusive group of the top 1% of global business schools who are triple accredited.

Open University Law School

Offers world renowned and innovative legal education. Home to the most popular undergraduate law degree in the UK.

Faculty of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)

Teaching, research and business collaborations in the STEM disciplines through our schools (Computing and Communications; Engineering and Innovation; Environment, Earth and Ecosystem Sciences; Life, Health and Chemical Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics; and Physical Sciences) and the Knowledge Media Institute.

Faculty of Wellbeing, Education and Language Studies

Organised as three schools – Education, Childhood, Youth and Sport; Health, Wellbeing and Social Care; and Languages and Applied Linguistics – we are one of the UK’s largest and most innovative providers of higher education in wellbeing, education and language studies.

Institute of Educational Technology (IET)

The hub of the OU’s continuing research into and development of the latest technologies for learning and teaching. IET also runs a number of postgraduate programmes in educational technology.

Knowledge Media Institute (KMI)

A research and development centre at the leading edge of web, semantic, learning and new media technologies.

Centre for Inclusion and Collaborative Partnerships (CICP)

Responsible for maintaining and developing validation partnerships, external collaboration, access to higher education, research and scholarships, and the Council for National Academic Awards (CNAA) aftercare service.

Interdisciplinary Research Centres

Centre for Citizenship, Identities and Governance (CCIG)

Conducts and promotes research, dialogue, and debate that will contribute to a greater understanding of the connections between notions of citizenship, processes of identity formation and practices of governance in the contemporary world.

Centre for Research in Computing

Undertakes distinctive, leading edge research in software and processes that underpin knowledge management, communication, learning, and interactions among humans and machines.

Centre for Research in Education and Educational Technology (CREET)

Research falls into four key areas: Childhood and Youth Studies, Education Studies, Language and Literacies and Technology Enhanced Learning – united by a focus on learning through diverse media and challenging established orthodoxies in policy, pedagogy and research methods.

OpenSpace Research Centre

Promotes research into geographical and environmental challenges facing the world, exploring questions such as how we can live together better, inherit the past responsibly, and bequeath a better future to others.

We are also partners in two Economic and Social Research Council centres:

Innogen, The Centre for Social and Economic Research on Innovation in Genomics (with the University of Edinburgh)

CRESC, The Centre for Research on Socio-cultural Change (with the University of Manchester). We also host the ESRC-funded Identities Programme.

Open Research Online

Our research repository ORO has recorded more than 2.2 million downloads since 2006. Around 26,000 research articles are publicly available, part of our commitment to open access to educational resources.

Visit the ORO site

More like this

Nations, faculties & research

The OU in the UK nations and a directory of The Open University’s faculties and research centres.

The OU outside the UK

Information about The Open University’s commitment to international development programmes.

Milton Keynes Campus

The Open University has its headquarters at Walton Hall in Milton Keynes.

The Open University approves plans to create three larger support centres

The Open University approves plans to create three larger support centres.