Skip to content

Toggle service links

You are here

  1. Home
  2. Governance at The OU
  3. Executive team

Executive team

The Vice-Chancellor's Executive is made up of senior leaders from across the OU. The purpose of this leadership team is to provide strategic and operational direction to the Vice-Chancellor in their capacity as Chief Executive of The Open University. The Vice-Chancellor retains ultimate executive responsibility for proposing the Strategic Plan and budget to Council and remains accountable for their implementation.

What is its remit?

  • Monitoring and agreeing unit and faculty institutional action plans, budgets, performance and risk
  • Reviewing and approving pan-university policy issues and business decisions before presentation at a governance level
  • Resolving difficult pan-university issues
  • Briefings on important internal and external events requiring senior leadership oversight


  • Vice-Chancellor: Professor Mary Kellett
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Acting): Professor Josie Fraser
  • Executive Deans: Professor Ian Fribbance (FASS), Professor Devendra Kodwani (FBL), Professor Fary Cachelin (WELS), Interim Executive Dean (STEM): Professor Nick Braithwaite
  • Interim Pro-Vice-Chancellor Students: Dr Liz Marr
  • Pro-Vice-Chancellor Research, Enterprise and Scholarship:  Professor Kevin Hetherington
  • University Secretary: Dr Jonathan Nicholls
  • Group Finance Director: Laurence Holden
  • Acting Group People Services Director: Satvinder Reyatt
  • Chief Information Officer: Chris Youles
  • Interim Director Academic Services: Chris Rooke
  • Interim Commercial Director: David Willett