Skip to content The Open University
  1. Vocational qualifications
  2. Qualifications
  3. Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF)

Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF)

The QCF is an accessible framework providing flexible routes to full qualifications.

Every unit and qualification in the QCF has a credit value that tells you how long it takes to complete – one credit represents 10 hours’ work.

Each unit and qualification has its own level, between Entry level and level 8. The level indicates the challenge or complexity of the qualification with level 3 being equivalent to ‘A’ levels and level 8 being equivalent to PhD.

The combined credit value of a qualification dictates the size:

  • Award (1 to 12 credits)
  • Certificate (13 to 36 credits)
  • Diploma (37 credits or more)

The Register of Regulated Qualifications is the new national database containing details of all the Recognised Awarding Organisations and Regulated Qualifications in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Ofqual are the body who regulate qualifications, exams and assessments in England and vocational qualifications in Northern Ireland.