Skip to content

Toggle service links

Library News

Home Library News

National Student Survey logo

National Student Survey now open!

Monday, 21 January, 2019 - 12:40

SCONUL applications – 16/01/2019

Wednesday, 16 January, 2019 - 16:45

SCONUL access applications submitted on the 16th January, please re-apply

Direct links to Safari Ebooks issue Friday 11th January

Friday, 11 January, 2019 - 16:35

Direct links to Safari Ebooks from module materials are not working

Christmas 2018 Access to the library building and online help

Friday, 21 December, 2018 - 15:45

Information about building closure and help & support over the holiday period

Headphones resting on a laptop.

Episode one of Completely Shelfless out now

Tuesday, 18 December, 2018 - 10:05

Completely shelfless is the new podcast from the OU Library. Episode one is out now.

Image of newspapers

Changes to how you can access online newspapers

Thursday, 13 December, 2018 - 16:47

The Library's newspaper databases are changing, with over 2,300 more newspapers being added to the online Library.

Completely Shelfless – a podcast from the OU Library!

Friday, 7 December, 2018 - 14:26

Listen in to our latest adventure, a new podcast called Completely Shelfless! Our brand new pilot episode is called 'Are you a robot?' 

Freshers Fortnight - The Library on Facebook Live

Monday, 17 September, 2018 - 12:49

Whether you're #New2OU or #Back2OU, find out all about the Library on Tuesdays (at 12.30pm) and Thursdays (at 12pm) during Freshers Fortnight (September 24 to October 5).

New Left Review and Music Perception access issues, Friday 24 August

Friday, 24 August, 2018 - 16:34

Resolved 28/08/2018. The issues accessing the following Library resources ,New Left Review and Music Perception have now been fixed.

Library Search updated to new look and feel

Wednesday, 8 August, 2018 - 08:56

Library website look and feel refresh on 24 July 2018

Monday, 23 July, 2018 - 13:52

The Library website will be refreshed to a more up-to-date look and feel, consistent with other OU sites, while the content and navigation will remain the same.

Geoffrey Crowther OU mission speech image

Celebrating 49 years of the OU mission

Monday, 23 July, 2018 - 12:00

49 years ago today our first Chancellor, Lord Crowther, set out the mission statement of The Open University: to be open to people, places, methods and ideas

This is an image of touching hands

What does the Library do all day?

Wednesday, 11 July, 2018 - 10:53

Library website refresh: updating the look and feel

Wednesday, 4 July, 2018 - 14:28

The Library website will be updated to a more up-to-date look and feel, consistent with other OU sites.

Fiona Teaching Awards 2018

OU Teaching Awards 2018

Wednesday, 4 July, 2018 - 13:05

The Open University Teaching Awards were established to reward exceptional achievements in learning and teaching. Congratulations go to Fiona!

A great new opportunity to access the Times Higher Education

Friday, 22 June, 2018 - 13:16

How about having news on the latest trends and issues in Higher Education from across the world and all at your fingertips? 

SensusAccess online conversion service

Friday, 8 June, 2018 - 15:35

The OU provides access to SensusAccess, which enables print disabled students to convert material into a more accessible format.

New look and feel for Library Search

Monday, 4 June, 2018 - 17:31

Library Search will have a new look later this year. Try out the new look and feel.

An open book with a tree on each half

“Words, words, words.” ~ Hamlet, Act 2 Scene 2

Tuesday, 20 February, 2018 - 11:23

Can you guess the OU Library's theme for #ShakespeareSunday?

Standing on arrows facing different directions

Looking for some Business, Accounting or Marketing resources?

Thursday, 8 February, 2018 - 10:33

Find out about some of the fab resources the OU Library provides to support our students through their studies.

Library Search technical issue – 2/2/2018

Friday, 2 February, 2018 - 16:13

The technical issues experienced by Library Search have been resolved.

OU Researchers - join our online training sessions in February

Thursday, 1 February, 2018 - 10:59

Topics include issues around data sharing and finding external scholarship literature.

Plays, poems, stories and more with Literature Online

Friday, 26 January, 2018 - 10:42

A great resource for literature students - with full texts, reference material and more.

Question mark on pile of cards

Coming soon to Student Hub Live… Ask A Librarian

Thursday, 25 January, 2018 - 09:34

We want your questions about the OU Library!

Computer keyboard showing 'training' key

OU researchers, join our online training sessions in January and February

Thursday, 18 January, 2018 - 12:26

Topics covered include open access, research data management, finding scholarship literature and more.

January 15th is Martin Luther King Day

Monday, 15 January, 2018 - 12:01

Today we remember the American civil rights campaigner Martin Luther King Jr.

Get back into study after the Christmas break

Wednesday, 3 January, 2018 - 10:54

Brush up your study skills with OpenLearn

Happy Holidays from the OU Library!

Tuesday, 19 December, 2017 - 12:12

Enjoy this special treat from the Librari-elves.