Skip to content

Toggle service links


Image: Stephane Vetter

Welcome to the Physics Discipline

The Physics Discipline is part of the UK Open University’s School of Physical Sciences, and we would like to welcome you to our website. We are small friendly group, with around 20 members of staff, 12 research students and at any time something between 10 and 20 associate and visiting staff. Most of us are based in the Robert Hooke Building at the Open University’s main campus in Milton Keynes, but we also have staff tutors in several of the OU’s Regional and National Centres, reflecting the fact that our associate lecturer staff are  based all over the UK and our undergraduate and taught postgraduate students live all over the World.

We have world-leading research programmes across our range of interests which include quantum interactions and atomic, molecular, optical and plasma physics. Click here for more information about our research and here for information about current PhD studentships opportunities.

Physics Discipline members contribute to the Open University’s teaching on a large range of modules and have been at the forefront of many innovations in distance education. We are proud to work in association with the OpenScience Laboratory, which won the 2014 THE Outstanding ICT Initiative of the Year Award. 

Most undergraduate students who study physics at the Open University take either the physics pathway  through our BSc Hons in Natural Sciences, or our BSc Hons Maths and Physics degree. Alternatively, you could study some physics modules as part of the Open University’s Open Programme. If you don’t feel ready to commit yourself to a whole degree programme, why not try one of our short modules, such as “Learn about nuclear energy”. Click here for more information about your options for studying physics with the Open University. Fusion is the OU’s Physics & Astronomy society, run for and by our students.

We hope that you enjoy your visit to our website.

Jimena Gorfinkiel

Head of Physics