

ELECTIONS 2023 - 2024 MOZAMBIQUE POLITICAL PROCESS BULLETIN

Editor: Lázaro Mabunda | Director: Edson Cortez | Advisor: Joseph Hanlon | Communication Officer: Liliana Mangove

Number 113 – 17 July 2023

Published by Centro de Integridade Pública, Maputo, Mozambique

Articles may be freely reprinted but please cite the source

To subscribe to the English edition <u>https://cipleicoes.org/eng/</u> and the Portuguese version <u>https://www.cipleicoes.org/</u>

Who are the heads of the Frelimo lists for the municipal elections of 2023?

On Sunday (16 July), the Frelimo Party concluded the election of the heads of its lists for the municipal elections scheduled for October this year. There are municipalities where the incumbent mayors lost in the inner-party elections, and so cannot enjoy a further term of office. But the majority of the municipalities put their money on re-electing the incumbent mayors.

Boane, Manjacaze and Xai-Xai, among others, are examples of municipalities where the incumbent mayors did not win the votes of the Frelimo grass roots. In Matola, the party forced the current mayor, Calisto Cossa, to withdraw his name from the internal elections, although he had been one of the three candidates approved for the final vote that had been approved by the Frelimo Political Commission. The Party thought that Calisto Cossa did not have the image to compete for a further term of office, after his poor performance in managing what is now the largest municipality in the country. In the 2018 local elections, Frelimo had to resort to electoral fraud towin the vote in Matola. Niassa is the province with many new faces. Only the mayor of Lichinga survived the inner-party vote.

Municipality	Head of list (mayoral candidate)	
Maputo City	Rasaque Silvano Manhique (new)	
Maputo Province		
Matola	Júlio José Parruque (current governor of Maputo province)	
Boane	Geraldina Sarifa F. U. Bonifácio (new)	
Namaacha	Paulo Pande Chitiva (new)	
Manhiça	Luís Jossias Munguambe (renewal)	
Matola-Rio	Abdul Gafur M. Hassane Issufo (new municipality)	
Marracuene	Ahmad Shafee Sidat (new municipality)	
Gaza		
Xai-Xai	Adamo Ossumane Adamo (new)	
Chókwè	José Vasco Moiane (renewal)	

Chibuto	Henrique Albino Machava (renewal)	
Manjacaze	Francelina Sebastião Nhantumbo (new)	
Macia Town	Ramal Mussagy (renewal)	
Bilene Beach	Mufundisse Nhamboze Chilengue (renewal)	
Massingir	Ageu Armando Ngovene (new municipality)	
Inhambane	· ·	
Inhambane City	Benedito Eduardo Guimino (renewal)	
Maxixe	Issufo Fancisco (new)	
Quissico	Abílio José Paulo (renewal)	
Massinga	Roberto Francisco Zunguze (new)	
Vilankulo	Wiliamo Simão Tunzine (renewal)	
Homoine	Marcelino Samuel (new municipality)	
Manica		
Chimoio	João Carlos Gomes Ferreira (renewal)	
Manica Town	Jilane Abdul Constantino Armando (new)	
Gondola	Arlindo Cesário Ngozo (renewal)	
Catandica	Pedro Zacarias Mazonde (new)	
Sussundenga	Manuel Silva Sumila (new)	
Guro	Mário Pita Doa (new municipality)	
Sofala		
Beira	Stella Pinto Novo Zeca (current Secretary of State of Sofala)	
Dondo	Manuel Virande Chaparica (renewal)	
Nhamatanda	Antonio Charumar João (renewal)	
Gorongosa	Sabite Elicha Morais (renewal)	
Marromeu		
Caia	João Alberto Tangue (renewal) Satar Fernando Colimão (new municipality)	
Tete	Satar Perhando Coliniao (new Indincipality)	
	Mamani Bunga Vala (now)	
Nhamayábuè Moatize	Mamani Bunga Vale (new)	
Tete City	Carlos Portimão (renewal)	
,	César de Carvalho (renewal)	
Ulóngoè	Evaristo Pedro Fidelis (renewal)	
Chitima Zanak (zia	Domingos dos Rosário Ntefula Torcida (new municipality)	
Zambézia Quelimane City	Lourenço Acide Abdul Gani (municality currently governed by Renamo)	
Maganja da Costa	Virgílio Agostinho Gabriel Dinheiro (renewal)	
Mocuba	Manuela de Jesus Francisco Varela Opincai (new)	
Morrumbala		
Milange	José Jonimia Janasse (new municipality)	
Alto Molócuè	Felisberto Elias Jefure Mvua (renewal)	
Guruè	Tomás Alberto José Muananyale (new) José Aniceto Fernando (renewal)	
Nampula	Jose Aniceto i emanuo (l'enewal)	
	Manuel Podrigues (current governer of Nempula province)	
Nampula City	Manuel Rodrigues (current governor of Nampula province)	
Angoche	Danila Ussene (municipality governed by Renamo)	
Ribáuè	Osvaldo Celestino (new)	
Malema	Nelson de Azevedo Pedro (municipality governed by Renamo)	

Mozambique Island	Momad Ali (municipality governed by Renamo)			
Mossuril	Rui Chong Saw (former mayor of Nacala-Port)			
Monapo	Abdul Alimamad (renewal)			
Nacala-Port	Faruk Nuro (municipality currently governed by Renamo)			
Cabo Delgado				
Chiure	Vicente Jorge (municipality currently governed by Renamo)			
Balama	Mansur Cassamo (new municipality)			
Pemba	Satar Abdul Gani (new)			
Ibo	Issa Tarmamade (new municipality)			
Montepuez	Cecílio Anli Chabane (renewal)			
Mocímboa da Praia	Helena Bandeira (new)			
Mueda	Manuel Pita Alavalave (renewal)			
Niassa				
Cuamba	Luís Raimundo (municipality currently governed by Renamo)			
Mecanhelas	Damião Francisco Lissimba (new munipality)			
Mandimba	Wala Bernardo Daúde (new)			
Marrupa	Rachide Buanausse (new)			
Lichinga	Luís António Saíde Jumo (renewal)			
Metangula	Paulo Chicomaossico (new)			

	FICHA TÉCNICA:	ENDEREÇOS:
ELEIÇÕES 2023 - 2024	Editor: Lázaro Mabunda	Centro de Integridade Pública
	Advisor: Joseph Hanlon	English To subscribe: https://cipleicoes.org/eng/
	Director: Edson Cortez	Web: https://cipleicoes.org/eng/
	Translator: Paul Fauvet	Portuguese Web: https://www.cipeleicoes.org/
	Sub-editor: Samuel Monjane	Facebook: @cipeleições Instagram: @cip_eleições Tiktok: @cipmoz
	Layout: Alberto Manguele	Telegram: +258 843890584

Bulletin funded by:



CIP partners

