Skip to content

Toggle service links

You are here

  1. Home
  2. Study
  3. Young Applicants in Schools
  4. What can I study?

What can I study?


There are 30 modules in a range of subject areas, from science to law, languages to accounting and much more. You can choose to study a 10 or 30 credit module in a subject area that interests you. The modules start in October and run for either six or nine months depending on the credit level.

Module levels

The modules offered through YASS are at SCQF level 7: equivalent to the first year at a traditional university.

Credit points

Each module has credit points (10 or 30) which indicates the amount of credit you can count towards an Open University qualification and how many hours it might take you to study. One credit point represents approximately ten hours of study.

Please note: these credit points are higher education (CATS) points and not part of the UCAS tariff.

Further information and enrolment

To find out more about a module, including future enrolment dates, tutor support and assessment, please click on the module title you are interested in below.

For a downloadable list of all available modules, please click here.

On this page

The following courses are not necessarily shown in the recommended order of study for an OU qualification. The number of credit points for each individual module is noted in brackets.


Business and Management

Engineering, computing and technology

Health and Social Care





Social Sciences

Sport and Exercise