Skip to content

Toggle service links

School of Physical Sciences

The Open University's School of Physical Sciences is a lively and innovative community with interests in physics, astronomy, and planetary and space science.

css pmedia

School of Physical Sciences

Welcome to the Open University's School of Physical Sciences.

We are an enthusiastic and friendly group of Open University students and staff who carry out world-leading research and teaching in Astronomy, Physics, Physics Education, Planetary and Space Sciences, and Space Instrumentation.

We offer undergraduate modules and qualifications in Physics and in Astronomy and Planetary Science, as well as a taught Masters programme in Space Science.

We are committed to the principles of equality, diversity and inclusion. We offer exciting programmes in Outreach and Public Engagement with research. We also develop commercial and social enterprises as a means of maximising the impact of our academic and research activities.

Upcoming Events

Jun 20

Sensors & Platform Systems Research at the Surrey Space Centre

Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 14:30 to 16:00

Robert Hooke Seminar Room

Jun 24

How do extremophile bdelloid rotifers survive on limited nutrients?

Monday, June 24, 2019 - 14:30 to 15:30

Robert Hooke Seminar Room

Jul 1

Living on the Moon at the Royal Society Summer Science Exhibition

Monday, July 1, 2019 - 11:00 to Sunday, July 7, 2019 - 16:00

The Royal Society, 6 - 9 Carlton House Terrace, London, SW1Y 5AG

See All