Skip to content

Toggle service links
  1. eSTEeM
  2. News
  3. Enhancing scholarship at the eSTEeM Annual Conference

Enhancing scholarship at the eSTEeM Annual Conference

Posted 10th May 2019

Enhancing scholarship at the eSTEeM Annual Conference

The 8th eSTEeM Annual Conference took place on the 8-9 May 2019. The event which was attended by approx. 180 delegates included a strong presence from associate lecturers and students, and featured an interactive workshop on the theme of Students as Partners led by Prof. Mick Healey. We were delighted to be joined by guests from Shanghai Open University who participated in an international workshop where they discussed their highly successful visiting programme that brings together scholars from all over the world for short, intensive periods of study and experience sharing. 

Winners of the Best Poster PrizeDelegates were invited to vote for the best poster and congratulations go to Kate Bradshaw, Linda Thomson and Maria Velasco who won for their poster  - The impact of live streaming module-wide events in student engagement and motivation.


This year’s conference saw the 2nd eSTEeM Scholarship Projects of the Year Awards. Prizes were awarded for projects in two categories; Innovative/Original Approach to Teaching and Enhancing the Student Experience. Many congratulations go to the following eSTEeM project teams –


Innovative/Original Approach to Teaching

Enhancing the Student Experience

To read more about the projects please click the project titles.

Award winners of the Enhancing the Student Experience Project category

The eSTEeM directors together with Cath Brown (OUSA President) also took part in an online discussion with Student Hub Live to talk about eSTEeM’s work and the range of initiatives planned which are aimed at increasing student engagement in scholarship. Please visit the SHL website to catch up.

Top left image: Winners of the Best Poster Prize presented by the keynote presenter L-R Linda Thomson, Kate Bradshaw with Mick Healey.

Bottom right image: Winners of the Enhancing the Student Experience category L-R Lynda Cook, Vikki Haley-Mirnar, Catherine Halliwell, Louise MacBrayne and Diane Butler.