Skip to content

Toggle service links
  1. Vocational qualifications
  2. Qualifications
  3. Health and Social Care - Diplomas

Health and Social Care - Diplomas

The qualifications, which have been developed by Skills for Health and Skills for Care, are wide ranging diplomas with built-in flexibility to suit all fields of care. They are the main qualifications required by the Quality Care Commission in England and the Care Councils in Wales and Northern Ireland.

There are some variations in the qualification structure depending on the country you are working in. Please see our information page about the qualification structure for further information.

All of the diplomas are made up of a group of mandatory units and a wide selection of optional units.

Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care (England)

This qualification allows individuals to learn, develop and demonstrate the skills and knowledge required for employment and/or career progression in Adult Care within a role which has some autonomy, delegated responsibility or where there may be a need for supervision of others.

The qualification is suitable for a variety of roles where individuals have key responsibilities for delivery of care and support and/or a level of supervisory responsibility for others such as:

  • Lead Adult Care Worker
  • Lead Personal Assistant
  • Key Worker
  • Domicilliary Care Worker
  • Senior Care Worker
  • Support Worker

Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care (Wales & NI)

The qualification is suitable for people working in the following roles:

  • Senior care assistants/support workers/key workers in a residential setting
  • Senior healthcare assistants/support workers in community and primary care environments
  • Senior healthcare assistants/support  workers in acute health environments
  • Senior care assistants/support workers/key workers in domiciliary services
  • Senior care assistants/support workers/key workers in day services
  • Senior support workers in supported living projects
  • Community-based senior care assistants/support workers/key workers including those working in specialist areas e.g. dementia, learning disabilities
  • Personal assistants employed directly by the individual they support or their families
  • Emerging new types of workers and multidisciplinary health roles crossing traditional service barriers and delivery models

Your questions

Try our frequently asked questions

contact us by email

or call 01908 653774