Explore Themes

Berrill Building to St Michael's Church

(page 1 of 6)
Clip 1: Kenneth Berrill
Duration: 00:00:36
Date: 14-12-1986
Pro-Chancellor Sir Kenneth Berrill (1920-2009) at the naming ceremony of the new Berrill Building in 1997.
Image : Kenneth Berrill
Date: 1997
A view of the Berrill Building, named after Sir Kenneth Berrill (1920-2009) who served as the OU Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the Committee from 1983 to 1996.
Image : Berrill Building
Date: 2018

1. Berrill Building

The OU's main reception building was named after Sir Kenneth Berrill (1920-2009) who served as the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the Council of The Open University from 1983 to 1996. In 1967 Berrill had been appointed as a special adviser to the Treasury on public expenditure, and two years later became Chairman of the University Grants Committee (UGC). In 1985 Berrill was appointed as the first chair of the Securities and Investments Board (SIB).

 

Read Berrill's Guardian obituary from 2009 for further information. A video with Karen Foley and Dan Weinbren from The Open University discussing the Berrill Building is also available to view on YouTube.

The video clip is from an Open Forum programme from 1986. Berrill introduces a lecture by Vice Chancellor John Horlock.

 

The first image shows Sir Kenneth Berrill at the building naming ceremony in 1997. The second shows the Berrill Building in 2018. There are additional images of Sir Kenneth Berrill and the Berrill Building, including photographs of its construction, in the Historical OU Images collection.

 

Berrill Building to St Michael's Church (page 1 of 6)