video record
Media not available in the Digital Archive
In this programme Dinah Barsham discusses some of the innovations introduced by composers of the Mannheim school to symphonic writing. She also conducts the Croyland Chamber Orchestra which plays e...xamples from repertoire of the period. Typical Mannheim openings such as the premier coup d'archet and rocket effect are demonstrated, and there are examples of the use of contrast, the Mannheim crescendo and independent writing for woodwind and horns, from the works of Johann Stamitz, Ignaz Holzbauer and Christian Cannabich.
Metadata describing this Open University video programme
Module code and title: A304, The development of instruments and their music
Item code: A304; 06
First transmission date: 01-05-1974
Published: 1974
Rights Statement:
Restrictions on use:
Duration: 00:23:35
+ Show more...
Producer: David Seligman
Contributors: Dinah Barsham; Winifred Roberts; Croyland Chamber Orchestra
Publisher: BBC Open University
Footage description: Opens with Croyland Chamber Orchestra in the studio performing the beginning of Mozart's Paris Symphony. Dinah Barsham describes the musical life of Mannheim in the mid 18th century. Engravings of the town, the Duke of Wurtemburg, his castle and of Charles Burney, the musical historian: quotation from his comments on Mannheim, and from the German author, Christian Schubart; portrait of him. Dinah then moves on the the main theme of the programme: the features of the new musical style developed at Mannheim, initially under Johann Stamitz, founder of the Duke's orchestra. Portrait of Stamitz. The orchestra plays bars 1-24 of Stamitz' Symphony in D. Use of the rising motif device known as 'the rocket' is illustrated with bars 1-25 of Stamitz' Symphony in G. A final example of a dynamic opening is given: bars 1-18 of Stamitz' Symphony in E flat. Dinah analyses the crescendo in the E flat symphony, after which the complete crescendo is repeated. Use of the solo woodwind instrument was developed by Ignatz Holzbauer. Picture of summer theatre at Schwetzingen, where he conducted the opera. Trio from his Symphony in E flat is played, followed by bars 107-127 from Stamita' E flat symphony. Quotation from a letter from Mozart to his father commenting on the high standard of the Mannheim Orchestra under Stamitz's successor Christian Cannabich. Further stills of Mannhein buildings. Part of the Andante from Cannabich. Symphony in B flat illustrates his use of the clarinet. The complete first movement of Stamitz Symphony in D is played to illustrate all the musical devices examined in the programme. Finally, the transformation of these ideas by Mozart is illustrated by a recapitulation of the end of the first movement of his Paris Symphony, no. 31. Full repertoire: Symphony no. 31 in D 'The Paris' (First movement - extracts) / Mozart; Symphony in D (First movement - extracts) / Johann Stamitz; Symphony in G (First movement Bars 1-25) / Ignaz Holzbauer; Symphony in E flat (Extracts) / Ignaz Holzbauer; Symphony in B flat (Andante - extract) / Christian Cannabich
Master spool number: 6HT/71238
Production number: 00525_3052
Videofinder number: 2628
Available to public: no