Skip to content

Toggle service links

Library Services

Your gateway to a wide range of online information resources

  1. Library Services
  2. News
  3. Library News

Library News

This is an image of touching hands

What does the Library do all day?

Wednesday, 11 July, 2018 - 10:53

Library website refresh: updating the look and feel

Wednesday, 4 July, 2018 - 14:28

The Library website will be updated to a more up-to-date look and feel, consistent with other OU sites.

Fiona Teaching Awards 2018

OU Teaching Awards 2018

Wednesday, 4 July, 2018 - 13:05

The Open University Teaching Awards were established to reward exceptional achievements in learning and teaching. Congratulations go to Fiona!

A great new opportunity to access the Times Higher Education

Friday, 22 June, 2018 - 13:16

How about having news on the latest trends and issues in Higher Education from across the world and all at your fingertips? 

SensusAccess online conversion service

Friday, 8 June, 2018 - 15:35

The OU provides access to SensusAccess, which enables print disabled students to convert material into a more accessible format.

New look and feel for Library Search

Monday, 4 June, 2018 - 17:31

Library Search will have a new look later this year. Try out the new look and feel.

An open book with a tree on each half

“Words, words, words.” ~ Hamlet, Act 2 Scene 2

Tuesday, 20 February, 2018 - 11:23

Can you guess the OU Library's theme for #ShakespeareSunday?

Standing on arrows facing different directions

Looking for some Business, Accounting or Marketing resources?

Thursday, 8 February, 2018 - 10:33

Find out about some of the fab resources the OU Library provides to support our students through their studies.

Library Search technical issue – 2/2/2018

Friday, 2 February, 2018 - 16:13

The technical issues experienced by Library Search have been resolved.

OU Researchers - join our online training sessions in February

Thursday, 1 February, 2018 - 10:59

Topics include issues around data sharing and finding external scholarship literature.

Plays, poems, stories and more with Literature Online

Friday, 26 January, 2018 - 10:42

A great resource for literature students - with full texts, reference material and more.

Question mark on pile of cards

Coming soon to Student Hub Live… Ask A Librarian

Thursday, 25 January, 2018 - 09:34

We want your questions about the OU Library!

Computer keyboard showing 'training' key

OU researchers, join our online training sessions in January and February

Thursday, 18 January, 2018 - 12:26

Topics covered include open access, research data management, finding scholarship literature and more.

January 15th is Martin Luther King Day

Monday, 15 January, 2018 - 12:01

Today we remember the American civil rights campaigner Martin Luther King Jr.

Get back into study after the Christmas break

Wednesday, 3 January, 2018 - 10:54

Brush up your study skills with OpenLearn

Happy Holidays from the OU Library!

Tuesday, 19 December, 2017 - 12:12

Enjoy this special treat from the Librari-elves.

Reminder: Christmas 2017 – Library Building Closure

Monday, 18 December, 2017 - 10:09

The Library building at Milton Keynes will be closed over the Christmas period.

Have you seen our Zero Calorie Advent Calendar?

Thursday, 14 December, 2017 - 09:12

Treat yourself to some festive goodies from the OU Library.

Image showing a menorah with nine lit candles, a dreidel, a jug of oil and a fried doughnut.

Happy Hanukkah! The Festival of Lights begins today.

Tuesday, 12 December, 2017 - 11:08

Learn more about the traditions, history and food of this Jewish holiday.

Christmas 2017 – Library Building Closure

Monday, 11 December, 2017 - 10:17

The Library building at Milton Keynes will be closed over the Christmas period.

Find out how the OU Library can support your studies in the arts & culture

Wednesday, 6 December, 2017 - 11:45

Have a look at some of the many fantastic resources for students of the arts and culture in the online library.

The Library Services Zero-calorie advent calendar is back!

Friday, 1 December, 2017 - 09:00

Treat yourself to some festive goodies from the OU Library

Library Helpdesk turns 20!

Wednesday, 22 November, 2017 - 11:46

Discover how the Library Helpdesk first started and how it supports students today.

This week is Explore Your Archive Week!

Tuesday, 21 November, 2017 - 12:04

Explore the OU Digital Archive and see what you can find.

Celebrate Life Long Learning with World Nursery Rhyme Week!

Friday, 17 November, 2017 - 11:03

Share our favourite Nursery Rhymes and rediscover your own!

Colourful World Map

Find out how the OU Library can support your Language studies

Tuesday, 14 November, 2017 - 10:58

Have a peek at some of the many fabulous resources for students of languages here at the OU Library.

A pie chart with poll results

Library website polls: what we are doing with all your feedback

Thursday, 9 November, 2017 - 11:06

Your feedback from library website polls is making a difference, find out how.

Listening to you has helped transform our programme of online library training

Tuesday, 7 November, 2017 - 10:07

Find out how listening to you is resulting in record numbers joining.

Hands in the air

Library Student Panel: helping transform the Library

Friday, 3 November, 2017 - 12:58

Find out how working with a dedicated panel of students is making a difference to your studies

Engraving of the Gunpowder Plot Conspirators

Remember, remember the fifth of November…

Thursday, 2 November, 2017 - 12:00

This Bonfire Night learn about the history of the Gunpowder Plot of 1605.

This site requires Javascript
view non javascript version