video record
Media not available in the Digital Archive
Bach's second partita is one of the most demanding and exciting works in the repertoire for solo violin. It has the usual four movements of a suite with the addition of a final brilliant chaconne. ...The chaconne is a series of thirty variations on the same eight bar theme. The soloist for this recital is Ruggiero Ricci, one of the world's leading virtuoso players. Here he plays the first four movements of an unmodernised violin of the 18th century. For the final chaconne he uses his own Guarnerius del Gesu of 1734.
Metadata describing this Open University video programme
Module code and title: A304, The development of instruments and their music
Item code: A304; 04
First transmission date: 27-03-1974
Published: 1974
Rights Statement:
Restrictions on use:
Duration: 00:23:24
+ Show more...
Producer: Richard Callanan
Contributors: Owain Edwards; Ruggiero Ricci
Publisher: BBC Open University
Subject terms: Chaconne
Footage description: The programme is briefly introduced voice over by Owain Edwards. Ruggiero Ricci plays "Partita no.2 in D minor" for solo violin by J.S. Bach on an old fashioned violin. First movement: Allemande. Second movement: Courante. Third movement: Sarabande. Fourth movements: Gigue. Fifth movement: Chaconne, played on a 'modern violin', a modified Guarnerius del Gesu constructed in 1734.
Master spool number: 6HT/71070
Production number: 00525_3177
Videofinder number: 2626
Available to public: no